top of page
Search
  • t0284390

FINAL PROJECT [week 8]

Updated: Apr 8, 2021




Continue making my garment this week










For the upper part as I mentioned last week I used plastic water bottle be part of my garment.

I found a linen bed sheet that I am not using. For the another half of the upper part, I decided to use this bed sheet.





Garment Collar

I have tried 2 smocking skills for choosing my garment collar.


Afterward, I have chose the left hand side smocking skill be my garment collar. The reason I chose for this is I think the pattern are more attractive and suitable for my theme. The pattern of this smocking like the wave of the water in sea.


Time lapse

Time lapse of making two smocking





Time lapse

video of sewing the fabric side



video of sewing my garment collar



Draft

Left hand side of my upper garment

Measure how many fabric do I need to put on the body part.



Dye fabric

I have prepared some materials for dying fabric.


Material List:

-Gloves

-Salt

-Hot water

-Spoon

-Fabric

-Fabric Dye


How to use the hand dye

  1. The fabric the clean water

  2. Change the water after the first step

  3. Put the dye into 500ml water (dissolved dye)

  4. Add salt (dissolved salt)

  5. Add dye and stir

  6. Start to dye the fabric

-Hand dye suitable for cotton, linen and viscose


Time lapse

Video of putting the fabric in the clean water first, it can help the fabrics to discharge impurities.



This video is about the process of dying fabrics.



Experiment

Add different amount of dye into water have different colors outcome.


LEFT HAND SIDE PART

The final outcome garment of left hand side part upper part


MIDDLE PART

The middle part of my upper part garment



Time lapse

This video is about the middle pattern part of drawing and cutting on the bed sheet


Video of how I fix the pattern side




Photo: After fixed the side

The reason why I need to fix the side first and not directly stick the side. It is because this pattern have wave hard to directly stick the sides, therefore used pin to fix the right position it can help me easier for sticking.



Action Plan for next week:

-Stick the upper part things all to gather

-Start cutting the pattern of the lower part

-Dye the lower part fabric

-Hope I can do better and improve in dying fabrics, after the first experience

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page